Postage Stamp Chat Board & Stamp Bulletin Board Forum

World's No#1 place to discuss STAMP COLLECTING and PHILATELY!

ZERO cost to ANYONE  -  NO annoying ads everywhere!

It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 20:48:06 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 09:07:36 am 
RED Shooting Star Posting MANIAC!

Since I am no expert in this area, I would like to know your opinion about this early Att overprint.

I looked at "Siam Att overprints exhibit" at Exponet web site and this stamp is shown with a remark that it is very rare - about 40 stamps are only known.

I bought it very cheap, so I assume it is a forgery?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 05, 2012 18:32:03 pm 
AQUA Star Stampboards Enthusiast
AQUA Star Stampboards Enthusiast

I'm not an expert on Siam Stamps. But from my ref, the CDS obtained is not fm that era. I presume its not genuine based on comparison with few Thai Occupation Malaya stamps in my collection. Anyway its just my opinion.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 04:54:44 am 
Black Ninja Star! Board Posting Addict.

The overprint sure looks like Scott 26/ Saeng-Ngern 27. But some authorities consider this surcharge to be a forgery to start with and may not be an official one.
Anyway, it needs a certificate. CV approx. 350 000 baht.
The cds is Bang-Pa-In in central Thailand and has nothing to do with the Thai occupation of Malaya...

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2012 05:22:32 am 

mika2671 wrote:
The overprint sure looks like Scott 26/ Saeng-Ngern 27. But some authorities consider this surcharge to be a forgery to start with and may not be an official one.
Anyway, it needs a certificate. CV approx. 350 000 baht.
The cds is Bang-Pa-In in central Thailand and has nothing to do with the Thai occupation of Malaya...

Thanks for the info. In the exhibit status of this overprint is mentioned. In the exhibit is mentioned that they are known used from 1890.