Postage Stamp Chat Board & Stamp Bulletin Board Forum

World's No#1 place to discuss STAMP COLLECTING and PHILATELY!

ZERO cost to ANYONE  -  NO annoying ads everywhere!

It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 11:40:38 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 01:32:43 am 
Senior Member Advanced Stamp Board Guru

Anyone interested in Uganda's stamps and postal history? Or any other collectors living in Uganda?

My own collecting area is Oman, and I have been collecting Oman for over 45 years. But as I now live in Kampala, I am trying to find fellow collectors here. Without success, so far. So let me start the new year with some infos on Uganda, hoping this will help me to trace some fellow collectors here in Uganda - no matter what they collect. I would be quite happy to host a meeting for collectors here in Kampala!

Postal services in Uganda are run by Posta Uganda. This is the brand name of Uganda Post Limited. They operate 334 post offices. Sometimes they are a bit run-down, but I always encountered a helpful, friendly staff and commemorative stamps are available even in remote areas.

Above is the post office in Mengo, Kampala, and below the post office of Fort Portal in the west of Uganda.

There is no home delivery for ordinary letters, but there are around 79.500 private post office boxes, around one box for every 94 Ugandan households. Below are the P.O. Boxes in the Fort Portal post office.

The volume of letters handled by Posta Uganda is declining. In 2008, Posta Uganda still handled 5.7 million letters, 4.7 million in 2009, 3.7 million in 2011 and only 2.6 million in 2012. At the same time, the number of parcels handled is increasing: 153.598 in 2008, 194.856 in 2011, and 256.089 in 2012.

Again, if you know any collectors living in this beautiful country, let me know!

Joachim

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 19:00:06 pm 
RED Shooting Star Posting MANIAC!

Interesting info, Joachim!

I collect the world so Uganda too.