My slowly growing Tasman Empire Airways Ltd TEAL collection

Whether we own them or not we all love LOOKING at philatelic Gems and goodies. Add your favourites today. Add your comments WHY this stamp or cover or item is superb or unusual. Or lift them from an auction site to share with other members, if that does not breach their copyright notice.

Moderators: snaws, Justin, Volunteer Moderator Team

ewen s
5000 Great Posts - WHAT a Milestone!

My slowly growing Tasman Empire Airways Ltd TEAL collection

Post by ewen s »

Good morning 'boarders,

I have been collecting TEAL off-and-on for nearly 5 years now and thought I'd share what I have so far. I'm missing many pieces but am enjoying the hunt.

To start with, TEAL obtained the first of their two Short S30 Empire Class flying boats in August 1939. The Aotearoa flew various survey flights until it was joined by the Awarua in April 1940. This was when the trans-Tasman service was inaugurated.
The Aotearoa
The last leg of the delivery, from Sydney to Auckland, contained no official mail however there was a small unofficial mail to commemorate the arrival. My rather toned copy below is signed by John Burgess, the pilot. It has been cancelled three days after it arrived (and the day before WW2 began).

If anyone is interested, the link below will take you to a diary of the delivery trip by Gerald Brown, who went along to look after the ship's new auto-pilot system (affectionately known as "George"). It's not a long read but captures the romance of the journey well;

https://friendsofthesolentflyingboat.wordpress.com/zk-ama-delivery-flight/

Cheers,

Ewen :)

ewen s

Re: My slowly growing Tasman Empire Airways Ltd collection

Post by ewen s »