Are GB modern FDC or presentation packs better investments?

Stampboards has 1000s of regular readers who WILL take the time to help out even with the most basic question. If you are new to stamps - or taking up the hobby after a long break, there is a lot to learn. PLEASE do not be shy in asking the simplest of questions .. members here will be delighted to help you with the answers!

Moderator: Volunteer Moderator Team

BartyBoy

Are GB modern FDC or presentation packs better investments?

Post by BartyBoy »

It is something which has been going around in my mind for a while...

Between a first day cover and a presentation pack, which one gives a better investment value in general?

Every time when a new set of stamps released by Royal Mail, I would go and buy a FDC and a PP from my local post office. I have been doing the same routine for almost 12 years now.

As the stamps are getting more and more expensive, I am considering to just buy either FDCs or PPs from 2013 and so on, therefore I would like to know which one I should drop – FDCs or PPs?

Many thanks in advance!
DJM
WINNER! Stampboards Poster Of The Month

Re: First day covers or presentation packs?

Post by DJM »

Only a crystal ball will tell you that - chances are you'll buy one thing but it will be the other that rockets in value...

D.
fromdownunder
Sadly departed RIP. Greatly missed here
Sadly departed RIP.  Greatly missed here

Post by fromdownunder »

Stick with the Presentation Packs. At least you will be able to use the stamps for postage some time in the future, and go close to breaking even.

Norm
Against stupidity, the Gods themselves contend in Vain
GlenStephens
I was online for Post Number 4 MILLION!

Post by GlenStephens »

BartyBoy wrote:
Between a first day cover and a presentation pack, which one gives a better investment value in general?